chocolate, pearls & audrey hepburn


When I got back from girl’s camp last Friday I was so tired I wanted to cry. Actually I did cry. And then I made a list of all the things I wanted to do:

1. do my hair and make up wonderfully (you know, after a week without a shower at camp)

2. eat chocolate (all I could find was a creamie)

3. watch an Audrey Hepburn movie (Breakfast at Tiffany’s was on Netflix)

4. wear pearls (I’ll explain soon)

5. go longboarding (I crashed… haha yeah)

Some of these need explaining. hmmm, why I wanted to watch an Audrey Hepburn movie:

I love her, why? one word: class. She’s got class. And loveliness. And grace.

 

Yes, I think chocolate and Audrey Hepburn can make any girl feel better. Here is one of my favorite stories from a talk, by Elder Douglas L. Callister:

I once visited briefly with the great actress Audrey Hepburn while she was making the movie My Fair Lady. She spoke of the opening scene in the movie in which she depicted a modest, unpolished flower girl. Her face had been besmirched with charcoal to make her seem part of her surroundings. “But,” she said with a twinkle in her eye, “I was wearing my perfume. Inside I still knew I was a lady.” It doesn’t take expensive perfume to make a lady, but it does require cleanliness, modesty, self-respect, and pride in one’s appearance.

Yesterday in Young Women’s we were talking about being happy. One of the 10 steps for finding happiness is “grow in grace.” I shared this story about Audrey and said I think grace is kinda like class. It’s being beautiful and feminine in everything, just like Audrey Hepburn even when she was covered in dirt, she still had her perfume. That’s grace. That’s class.

And pearls are wonderfully classy. All I have are plastic ones from Old Navy, but I keep wearing them. Pearls are lovely, and one cannot help but feel lovely wearing them. So, if you are having a bad day, wear pearls! If you are having a great day, still wear pearls! I do, at least. Pearls and Converse sneakers, awww yeah. :]

 

Oh yeah, that’s what I do ;) like a boss.

Wanna hear my longboarding story? Basically I fell off, did a ninja roll, and ended up sprawled out in the middle of the street laughing. I’m not sure who saw. Probably all the guys who lived on that street :/ haha oh gosh, and here I am talking about grace… yeah.

Well, if all else fails: keep calm and eat chocolate, wear pearls (no matter what else you are wearing, and even if they are cheap plastic beauties) and watch an Audrey Hepburn movie :]

Loves, Emma

3 thoughts on “chocolate, pearls & audrey hepburn

  1. Pingback: Don’t care if critics ever jump in line «

Leave a Reply

