Introverted


I am an outgoing introvert. I love my friends, but one of my common phrases is “but I don’t like people….” It’s not really that I don’t like people, sometimes I just don’t like being around them.

Really, three months ago I hardly ever hung out on weekends. People would want me to do something on Fridays and I would have to say no, because I simply didn’t want to. All of my sociability got used up during the week at school and by the weekend I simply didn’t have any more to give. Since then I have improved a couple of friendships to the point where we can do absolutely nothing and still have loads of fun. That helps. Because sometimes its the doing something that pushes me over the edge.

I remember once when I was younger I was playing with a neighbor girl. I wanted so badly to be done playing with people that I excused myself for a moment to beg my dad to say it was time for friends to go home. He didn’t really understand why, but he did it for me.

It’s not uncommon for my mom to ask me “do you want me to say yes?” Because sometimes its awfully nice to say, “sorry, my mom said I can’t come.”

Did you know Audrey Hepburn was also an introvert? I stumbled upon that lovely lovely piece of information today.

“I’m an introvert… I love being by myself, love being outdoors, love taking a long walk with my dogs and looking at the trees, flowers, the sky” -Audrey Hepburn

Source: itsallinthebook.tumblr.com viaEmma on Pinterest

I like her even more now (I didn’t even know that was possible). And I like being an introvert even more now.

Source: pamelalovenyc.tumblr.com viaDottie on Pinterest

Albert Einstein was an introvert, too! He just liked to sit alone, wearing awesome fuzzy slippers, being a genius.

I am an outgoing introvert. This is why coming home was really so lovely. Now my social life isn’t all drained by school. I have enough left to do stuff with people. And I get to sit at home all day doing extremely introverted stuff. Ah, my life is fantastic.

-Emma

Leave a Reply

